Welcome to
The Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum!

Located in A.G. Bimson’s historic blacksmith shop and Elmer Carlson’s garage building, the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum brings Berthoud’s heritage to life. An array of exhibits reveals the town and surrounding rural districts as a bustling agricultural center of Colorado since the 1880s.

Visitor Essentials

224 Mountain Avenue, Berthoud, CO   80513
Phone: 970-532-2147
Hours of Operation – Open Thursday-Saturday, 1-4 p.m.
Admission – Adults $5 | Seniors and Youth (12-18) $3 | Children (11 and under) Free
Members always free

The Pioneer Courtyard
Our Museum Event Space

About the Museum

Originally built in 1893 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Bimson’s Stone Shop also serves as the gateway to museum grounds that feature unique exhibits and comfortable gathering places where the Berthoud Historical Society hosts educational event and entertaining programs for all ages.

Seven Historic Buildings
and Many Historic Artifacts Assembled around a Community Focused Courtyard

Museum History

Saved by local residents in 1976, blacksmith A.G. Bimson’s Stone Shop was opened by the Berthoud Historical Society as the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum in 1978. The building was erected in 1893 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

A.J. Bimson’s  Barn was relocated to the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum in 2001. Originally constructed in 1902 it served as a temporary dwelling for the Bimson family while their new home was being built. The barn serves as a picturesque backdrop for the Pioneer Stage where many performances take place.

Elmer Carlson erected “a new 24×60-foot garage building, just east of Bimson’s old stone shop” in 1940. Located at its original site but now on museum grounds, the “ Carlson Building ” serves as a museum annex. The Carlson Building is home to our military exhibit honoring our local hometown heroes and the Hildreth Brothers photographic studio. Our changing exhibits are also on display this building.

The Meadow Hollow School once sat in a valley west of Berthoud that is now covered by Carter Lake . The school was built in 1916 and was a gift of rancher Roy Hunter. Since 2005 the school has served as an exhibit and site of a living history day camp.

The Bunyan Observatory is a replica of the astronomical observatory Berthoud banker John Bunyan built in his backyard in 1933. Built in 2004, the observatory is an exhibit during museum hours and a site for public stargazing the first Friday of every month.

Take a Virtual Tour

Bimson Fence and Gates

Click the video below to learn about the hand forged wrought iron fence and gates that secure the Pioneer Courtyard at the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum. Inspired by the ornamental iron work of Berthoud Blacksmith A.G. Bimson.

Bimson Stone Shop

Click the video below to learn about the iconic Bimson Stone Shop built by Berthoud blacksmith Alfred G. Bimson. The historic stone shop now serves as the primary building for the Berthoud Historical Society.

Charles Meining  1867 Cabin

Click the video below to learn about the history and installation of the 1867 Charles Meining Cabin at the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum.

 

Arrange a Group Tour

The Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum offers pre-arranged group tours. To schedule a tour for groups of six or more persons, please call the museum during business hours or email us to reserve a date. It is requested that arrangements be made four weeks in advance to ensure that we can tailor your visit to your specific needs. There is no charge for this service, but we are a self-funded museum and donations are gratefully accepted.

Tours with a special emphasis and tours outside regular visiting hours may also be requested. Most areas of the museum are handicapped-accessible. Shopping and dining opportunities are also available within short driving or walking distance.

For more information please call the Little Thompson Valley Pioneer Museum at 970-532-2147

en_USEnglish